Braden Holtby nominated for Ted Lindsay award.

May 8, 2016
First Published On: May 8, 2016
by HitBerry

The National Hockey League Awards will be here soon! We’re excited about who’s making it to the nominations as much as we’re excited about the main event that’s happening on June 22 in Las Vegas! With the awards’ main event set in June, the nominees have been revealed and the finalists for Ted Lindsay Awards are, are you, ready people?

Dallas Stars forward Jamie Benn, Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane and last but oh-so-definitely not the least Braden Holtby!

This year Holtby had even made his way as a finalist for the Vezina Trophy with the Ted Lindsay Award nomination being his first one. Braden Holtby helped the Washington Capitals capture the President’s Trophy for the second time in franchise history, appearing in a total of 66 games. Holtby has set a franchise record with 48 wins! He posted a 48-9-7 record with three shutouts, a 2.20 goals-against-average, and a .922 save percentage.

Braden Holtby in his full glory.           Source: The Washington Post 

Holtby became the 13th goaltender in NHL history to post multiple 40-win seasons and is the seventh goaltender in NHL history to record consecutive 40-win seasons. Holtby has posted a 149-60-25 record with 23 shutouts, a 2.37 goals against average and a .921 save percentage in 244 career NHL games with Washington. Since the start of the 2012-13 season, he ranks first among NHL goaltenders in wins (135) and tied for second in shutouts (20).

Since 1971, only three goaltenders; Carey Price, Dominik Hasek and Mike Luit have won the Ted Lindsay Award, will it be Holtby next?